Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Nuneaton Town FC


Nuneaton Town First Team - Match centre

Nuneaton Town
Worcester City
D Morgan (80')
Full time
Sat 20 Feb 15:00 - The Vanarama National League - National League North Attendance 825

Nuneaton Town 1 Worcester City 1

Saturday 20th February, 2016;

Worcester City struck in the 90th minute to earn a point at the A1 Gas Force Arena - Amadou Bakayoko serving up a bitter blow to Nuneaton who had led through David Morgan's goal.

The wind blowing around the A1 Gas Force Arena certainly caused problems in the first half as neither side adapted well to the conditions in the opening 45 minutes – producing few chances in the process.

The closest either side came to testing the opposition keeper – came from a keeper – as Worcester stopper Nathan Vaughn sent a free-kick forward on the halfway line which caught in the wind and very nearly sailed over the head of Jordan Smith.

Nuneaton 1 - 1 Worcester City
17 photos

The Boro keeper did well to grab it and this effort proved to be the only time he would be needed before the break.

HT: Nuneaton Town 0 Worcester City 0

Nuneaton also struggled to create chances and had to wait until the 56th minute before Marlon Harewood broke through the Worcester defence, but they saw the chance go begging.

The second half failed to see a dramatic improvement from the first as both sides were still struggling with the conditions as much as each other.

Both sets of fans were waiting for the spark needed to get the occasion going, and nearly got it in the 70th minute, but Jordan Smith did superbly well to get down low and use his feet to deny Sam Minihan. The City right back smashed a near post shot from the angle of the box, but the Boro keeper was equal to it.

That save came at a good time as Worcester were starting to up the ante but Smith kept the Boro in it – a fact they took advantage of ten minutes later.

Nuneaton hadn't really threatened Vaughn at all, but in the space of five minutes they forced him to deny Elliott Whitehouse after he headed goalwards from a corner – and then pick the ball out of the back of the net after a truly wonderful strike by David Morgan.

It was a strike of real quality, Vaughn had no chance as the ball flew over his head and into the top corner of the net from the edge of the box.

Suddenly a game that had been poor for so long became an end-to-end affair with both teams going for it.

The openness of the game suited Nuneaton as they were able to hit Worcester on the break and chances were created for Joe Ironside and Elliott Whitehouse - both players will have been frustrated they were not taken.

Even more so when Worcester equalised dead on 90 minutes.

Amadou Bakayoko flicked up a free-kick before turning sharply and heading home his own assist to deny Boro all three points.

FT: Nuneaton Town 1 Worcester City 1

NUNEATON TOWN: J.Smith, Clifton, C.Keane, Duffy, Rowe-Turner, McDonald (Warburton 87), Byrne, Morgan, Whitehouse, Waite (R.Smith 68), Harewood (Ironside 63).
Subs not used: Daniels, De La Paz.

WORCESTER CITY: Vaughn, Minihan, Gudger, Sharpe, Thomas, Jackman (Ologu 82), Nti, Donnellan, Hughes (Bakayoko 72) Gater, Murphy (Burton 82).
Subs not used: Ross, Waldron.


Key moments

Goal David Morgan scores for Nuneaton Town

Videos and photos

Nuneaton 1 - 1 Worcester City
17 photos


View 0 new events
87:00 Sub Off
Wes McDonald is substituted off for Nuneaton Town
87:00 Sub On
Sam Warburton is substituted on for Nuneaton Town
80:00 Goal 1 - 0
David Morgan scores for Nuneaton Town
68:00 Sub Off
Tyrell Waite is substituted off for Nuneaton Town
68:00 Sub On
Ryan Smith is substituted on for Nuneaton Town
63:00 Sub Off
Marlon Harewood is substituted off for Nuneaton Town
63:00 Sub On
Joe Ironside is substituted on for Nuneaton Town
55:00 Yellow Card
Cieron Keane is yellow carded for Nuneaton Town
Start of the game
Replay game

As it happened

  • Nuneaton Town
  • Worcester City
  • 0
  • Cieron Keane Yellow Card 55:00'
  • Marlon Harewood Sub Off 63:00'
  • Joe Ironside Sub On 63:00'
  • Tyrell Waite Sub Off 68:00'
  • Ryan Smith Sub On 68:00'
  • David Morgan Goal 80:00'
  • Wes McDonald Sub Off 87:00'
  • Sam Warburton Sub On 87:00'

Team selection

Nuneaton Town
  • 1. Jordan Smith
  • 2. James Clifton
  • 3. Cieron Keane
  • 4. David Morgan
  • 5. Robert Duffy
  • 6. Lathaniel Rowe-Turner
  • 7. Tyrell Waite
  • 8. Shane Byrne
  • 9. Marlon Harewood
  • 10. Elliott Whitehouse
  • 11. Wes McDonald
  • 12. Ryan Smith
  • 13. Joe Ironside
  • 14. Sam Warburton

League round up

Team sponsors


Club sponsors