Nuneaton Town First Team – Match centre

Nuneaton Town
Brackley Town
Full time
G Walker (8′), J Armson (59′ Pen)
Sat 6 Jan 15:00 – The Vanarama National League – National League North Attendance 532

Nuneaton Town 0-2 Brackley Town


Boro fall to home defeat…

Nuneaton Town tasted defeat for the second time in a week as Brackley Town left the LDJ Solicitors Stadium with three points.

Two goals either side of the interval did the damage on an unfortunate afternoon for Dino Maamria’s men.

The visitors sought to push from the start and after five minutes an early cross swept across the Boro box escaping everybody.

However just moments later Nuneaton were less fortunate when defending a ball into the box.

A free-kick from the edge of the area caused problems and the routine allowed Brackley’s Glen Walker to tuck the ball home from close range.

Having fallen behind Boro looked to hit back and after a build up of pressure, Jordan Nicholson saw his shot well blocked.

Whilst at the other end Lyness had to be at his best to twice deny the away side. He first got down low to push a shot away, before denying Brackley from point blank range with remarkable reflexes.

But it was Boro who ended the opening period strongly as Elliot volleyed off target and Ferry tested Danny Lewis in the opposition goal.

The second period followed the same unfortunate pattern for Nuneaton who conceded an early goal.

After failing to claim a cross at the first attempt Lyness was penalised inside the box when challenging for the loose ball.

James Armson stepped up to convert from 12-yards and double the visitors advantage.

The Boro front three all continued to push the Brackley rear guard. Chambers guided a header just over, with Nti threatening from the right, before Nicholson turned smartly but could only fire over from the edge of the area.

Chambers almost pulled one back at the death when he blocked a clearance, but it looped over both Danny Lewis and the crossbar to save the goalkeepers blushes.

Key moments

Goal Glen Walker scores for Brackley Town
Scored Penalty James Armson scores a penalty for Brackley Town


View 0 new events
88:00 Sub Off
Daniel Nti is substituted off for Nuneaton Town
88:00 Sub On
Andre Olukanmi is substituted on for Nuneaton Town
87:00 Sub Off
Andy Brown is substituted off for Brackley Town
87:00 Sub On
Jamie Lucas is substituted on for Brackley Town
85:00 Sub Off
James Armson is substituted off for Brackley Town
85:00 Sub On
Adam Walker is substituted on for Brackley Town
84:00 Yellow Card
Matt Lowe is yellow carded for Brackley Town
83:00 Missed Shot
Jordan Nicholson misses a shot for Nuneaton Town
64:00 Missed Shot
Ashley Chambers misses a shot for Nuneaton Town
59:00 Scored Penalty 0 – 2
James Armson scores a penalty for Brackley Town
57:00 Yellow Card
Jonathan Ashton is yellow carded for Nuneaton Town
54:00 Saved Shot
Andy Brown has a shot saved for Brackley Town
46:00 Sub Off
Brad-Lee Gascoigne is substituted off for Nuneaton Town
46:00 Sub On
Kairo Mitchell is substituted on for Nuneaton Town
End of period 1
8:00 Goal 0 – 1
Glen Walker scores for Brackley Town
Start of the game
Replay game

As it happened

  • Nuneaton Town
  • Brackley Town
  • 0
  • Glen Walker Goal 8:00′
  • Brad-Lee Gascoigne Sub Off 46:00′
  • Kairo Mitchell Sub On 46:00′
  • Jonathan Ashton Yellow Card 57:00′
  • James Armson Scored Penalty 59:00′
  • Matt Lowe Yellow Card 84:00′
  • James Armson Sub Off 85:00′
  • Adam Walker Sub On 85:00′
  • Andy Brown Sub Off 87:00′
  • Jamie Lucas Sub On 87:00′
  • Daniel Nti Sub Off 88:00′
  • Andre Olukanmi Sub On 88:00′

Team selection

Lyness, Dean Lyness, Dean
Wildin, Luther Wildin, Luther
Ashton, Jonathan
Ferry, James
Gascoigne, Brad-Lee Gascoigne, Brad-Lee
Heaton, Niall
Nti, Daniel
Elliott, Tom Elliott, Tom
Nicholson, Jordan Nicholson, Jordan
Chambers, Ashley Chambers, Ashley
Johnson, Ryan
Brackley Town
  • 1. Danny Lewis
  • 2. Ellis Myles
  • 3. Connor Franklin
  • 4. Shane Byrne
  • 5. Alex Gudger
  • 6. Gareth Dean
  • 7. Glen Walker
  • 8. James Armson
  • 9. Andy Brown
  • 10. Lee Ndlovu
  • 11. Matt Lowe
  • 12. Steve Diggin
  • 13. Adam Walker
  • 14. Luke Graham
  • 15. Ben Tillney
  • 16. Jamie Lucas

League round up

Team sponsors


Club sponsors